BJP sweeps Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council elections, wins all 26 seats

Karbi Anglong: Another major election victory for the Bharatiya Janata party in Assam, the party sweeps Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council (KAAC) election. in which the BJP won all 26 seats held on June 8.

KAAC has 30 members, 26 of whom are elected and the remaining 4 are nominated. And the BJP managed to win all 26 seats. This returned the BJP to power in the Autonomous Council, when the party won the last election in 2017.

In the last election, the party won 24 of the 26 seats, crushing the Congress party which had held the council for the previous three consecutive terms. Congress did not win a single seat in 2017.

In Wednesday's Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council election, turnout was 79%. Alongside the BJP and Congress, contestants including the newly formed All Party Hills Leaders Conference (APHLC), Autonomous State Demand Committe (ASDC), and the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), made the election a multi-faceted struggle. The BJP had contested all 26 seats, Congress for 24 seats, AAP for 10 and CPI (ML) for 15 seats.

During the KAAC election, violence erupted at two polling stations in the Duar Amla constituency. Ballot boxes were vandalized and ballot papers were burned by the mob, but the situation was later brought under control by the police. Re-election was conducted at both of the booth on June 10.

Tuliram Ronghang is Chief Executive Member of the outgoing council who represents from the Bithung Rengthama constituency.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post